Visit the Synapse Education Center

Barnes Adopt-a-Doc and Patricia Leahy Scholarhip Recipients

Since the inception of the first doctoral scholarship in 1993, the Section has awarded 15 Mary Lou Barnes Adopt-a-Doc and 10 Patricia Leahy Memorial Scholarships. These two doctoral scholarships honor two extraordinary Neurology Section members, Marylou Barnes and Patricia Leahy. The Mary Lou Barnes Adopt-A-Doc award was originated in 1993 after Dr. Barnes suggested during her Mary McMillan lecture that doctoral training needed to be supported by members. The Patricia Leahy award was begun in 1995 to further support doctoral education. Beginning 2001,the Section has partnered with the Foundation for Physical Therapy to administer our scholarships within the Foundation DOCS program.

Both scholarships will be administered as Foundation for Physical Therapy Promotion of Doctoral Studies (PODS) awards beginning this year. The Neurology Section has provided the funding to the Foundation to continue the awards within the PODS program.

The Marylou Barnes Adopt-A-Doc Award will become a PODS II in the amount of $15,000 and the Patti Leahy Scholarship will be a PODS I for $7,500. The scholarships will retain the names of our members and will be awarded to doctoral students whose studies indicate a neurology orientation.

In addition, at the Combined Sections Meeting in February 2006, the Section voted to make the final donation to the Foundation for Physical Therapy to fully endow both the PODS I and PODS II scholarships. Starting with the vision of Mary Lou Barnes in 1992, our Section has raised $355,000 in the past 5 years to ensure that these scholarships will go on in perpetuity.

Mary Lou Barnes Scholarship Recipients

  • 2020 Anne Palermo, PT, DPT
  • 2019 Timothy Faw, PT, DPT, NCS
  • 2018 Nayo M. Hill, PT, DPT
  • 2017 Timothy D. Faw, PT, DPT, NCS
  • 2016 Ben Binder-Markey, PT, DPT
  • 2015 Andrew Smith, PT, DPT
  • 2014 Hyosub Kim, PT, DPT
  • 2013 Laura Miller, PT, DPT
  • 2012 Kristan Leech, PT, DPT
  • 2011Elisa Gonzalez-Rothi
  • 2010 Virginia Little, PT, MS, NCS
  • 2008 Justin Beebe, PT, MSPT
  • 2007 Antoinette Domingo
  • 2006 Minna Hong
  • 2004 Sara Gombatto, MS, PT
  • 2003 Leslie Allison, PT, MS
  • 2002 Dorian Rose, PT, MS
  • 2001 Anne Gross, PT, MPT
  • 2000 Catherine Lang, MS, PT
  • 1999 Marcia Swanson, MPH, PT; JoAnn Klusik, MS, PT, PCS
  • 1998 Kirkwood Personius, PT
  • 1997 Andrew Messaros, PT
  • 1996 Sondra Siegel, PT
  • 1995 Debbie Backus, PT; Andrea Behrman, PT
  • 1994 Patty Leahy, PT
  • 1993 Pat Pohl


Patricia Leahy Scholarship Recipients

  • 2020 Joseph Lesnak, PT, DPT
  • 2019 Anne Palmero, PT, DPT
  • 2018 Rashelle M. Hoffman, PT, DPT
  • 2017 Anne Palermo, PT, DPT
  • 2016 Catherine VanDerwerker, PT, DPT
  • 2015 Timothy Faw, PT, DPT, NCS
  • 2014 Kendra Cherry-Allen, PT, DPT
  • 2013 Hyosub Kim, PT, DPT
  • 2012 Kristan Leech, PT, DPT
  • 2011 Miriam Rafferty
  • 2007 Andrew Littmann
  • 2006 Shauna D. Dudley-Javoroski
  • 2004 Sara Gombatto, MS, PT
  • 2003 Allison Hyngstrom, PT, MS
  • 2002 Jennifer Braswell, PT, MS
  • 2001 Susanne M. Morton, PT
  • 2000 Diane Wrisley, MS, PT, NCS
  • 1999 Lara Boyd, MPT
  • 1998 M. Kathleen Kelly, PT
  • 1997 Katharine Sullivan, PT
  • 1996 James Cole Galloway, PT


Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo