Visit the Synapse Education Center

ASSIsTIVE TECHNOLOGY/SEATING & WHEELCHAIR MOBILITY

The intent of this SIG is to raise the awareness of the impact of neurologic impairments in falls and fall prevention and improve our understanding of assessment and interventions for balance dysfunction and fall risk and prevention in neurologic disorders.

Chair

Barbara Crane, PT, PhD, ATP/SMS
Email: Barb.crane@cox.net

Vice Chair

Laura Cohen, PT, PhD, ATP/SMS, RE
Email: laura@rehabtechconsultants.com

Secretary

Judy Freyermuth, PT
Email: judy.freyermuth@rehabcare.com

Nominating Committee

Tammie Johnson, PT, DPT, ATP, MS (Chair)
Email: tammielkjohnson@gmail.com
Allison Fracchia, PT
Email: allisonfracchia@att.net
Jean Minkel, PT, ATP
Email: jminkel@aol.com

BALANCE AND FALLS

The intent of this SIG is to raise the awareness of the impact of neurologic impairments in falls and fall prevention and improve our understanding of assessment and interventions for balance dysfunction and fall risk and prevention in neurologic disorders.

Chair

Melissa S. Fong Doyle, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: msd.dpt@gmail.com

Chair-Elect

Julie Schwertfeger, PT, MBA
Email:Julie.schwertfeger@rosalindfranklin.edu

Vice Chair

Debbie Espy, PT, PhD
Email:d.espy@csuohio.edu

Secretary

Ann Reinthal, PT, PhD, NCS
Email: a.karas@csuohio.edu

Nominating Committee

Hina Garg, PhD, MS, PT (Chair)
Email:
Tanvi Bhatt, PT, PhD
Email: Tbhatt6@uic.edu
Evan Papa , PT, DPT, PhD
Email: Evan.papa@unthsc.edu

Other Committee Members

Kylie Aufderheide, PT, DPT
Email: kraufder@gmail.com
Layne Martin, SPT
Email: laynemartin25@gmail.com

BRAIN INJURY

The purpose of this group is to provide an avenue of communication and networking for clinicians, educators, and researchers working with or interested in acquired brain injury. The SIG provides a forum for discussion of topics related to brain injury at physical therapy national meetings.

Chair

Mary Beth Osborne, PT, DPT
Email: mbao@nc.rr.com

Vice Chair

Jennifer Fernandez, PT, DPT, NCS, PCS
Email: jennifer.schinke@brooksrehab.org

Secretary

Carolyn Tassini, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: carolyntassini@gmail.com

Nominating Committee

Dana Lott, PT, DPT, NCS (Chair)
Email: Humbe2dl@gmail.com
Laura Gerhardt, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: Laura.beninger@gmail.com
Hannah Foster, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: Hannahefoster1@gmail.com

Newsletter Co-Editors

Kimberly Yon-Davis, PTA
Email: kyondavis@earthlink.net
Jillian Stark, PT, DPT, CBIS
Email: jillian.a.stark@gmail.com

DEGENERATIVE DISEASES

The SIG updates members regarding current research and treatment through the SIG newsletter and provide a forum for discussion of topics related to neurodegenerative diseases at APTA meetings. We aim to support and develop educational materials about degenerative diseases and provide an avenue of communication and networking for clinicians, educators, and researchers working with or interested in individuals with neurodegenerative diseases.

Chair

Tara McIsaac, PT, PhD
Email: tmcisaac@atsu.edu

Chair-Elect

Katy Hendron, PT, DPT
Email: katyhendron@gmail.com

Vice Chair

David Russak, PT, DPT, CBIS, CSCS
Email:Drussak8@gmail.com

Secretary

Deb Kegelmeyer, PT, MS, DPT, GCS
Email: kegelmeyer.1@osu.edu

Nominating Committee

Rebecca Martin, DPT, PT (Chair)
Email:
Parminder (Parm) Padgett, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: parmpadgett@gmail.com
Alicia Flach , PT, DPT, NCS
Email: flachad@slu.edu

SPINAL CORD INJURY

The purpose of this group is to provide an avenue of communication and networking for clinicians, educators, and researchers working with or interested in SCI. The SIG provides a forum for discussion of topics related to SCI at physical therapy national meetings.

Chair

Karen Hutchinson, PT, DPT, PhD
Email: kahutch@bu.edu

Chair-Elect

Rachel Tappan, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: rtappan@ric.org

Vice Chair

Meghan Joyce, PT, DPT
Email: meghan.e.joyce@gmail.com

Secretary

Casey R. Kandilakis, PT, DPT, NC
Email: Casey_Kandilakis@Shepherd.org

Nominating Committee

Christi Hutchison, PT, NCS (Chair)
Email: Cmb4hm@yahoo.com
Cathy Larson, PT, PhD
Email: clarson@umflint.edu
Timothy Faw, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: Timothy.faw@gmail.com

STROKE

The SIG creates a forum for the discussion of rehabilitation issues associated with stroke survivors and form liaisons between APTA and the medical community through the support of research and through national organizations such as the National Stroke Association. Integrate into the community and provide information to the public about the risk factors of stroke and about living with the sequela of stroke.

Chair

Julia Castleberry, MS PT, DPT, CLT, GCS, NCS
Email: joxenreid@radford.edu

Chair-Elect

Heather Hayes, PT, DPT, NCS, PhD
Email: heather.hayes@hsc.utah.edu

Vice Chair

Jamie Haines , PT, DScPT, NCS
Email: jjduley@umflint.edu

Secretary

Maureen Whitford, PT, PhD, NCS
Email:mcwhitford2002@yahoo.com

Nominating Committee

Amelia Siles, PT, DPT, NCS (Chair)
Email:Amelia.siles@osumc.edu
Mark Stephens, PT, DPT, NCS
Email:mdstephensPT@gmail.com
Alexandra Borstad, PT, PhD, NCS
Email:Borstad.2@osu.edu
Other Committee Member
Maureen Karen Zacharewicz, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: karenzach@hotmail.com

VESTIBULAR REHABILITATION

The goal of the SIG is to facilitate exchange of information that would impact the treatment of the vestibular patient between researchers and clinicians. Act as a liaison between SIG members and organizations with interest in vestibular rehabilitation. Monitor and share information on reimbursement systems and the coverage policies for vestibular rehabilitation.

Chair

Anne Galgon, PT, PhD, NCS
Email:anne.galgon@temple.edu

Vice Chair

Lexi Miles, PT, MPT
Email:lexirmiles@gmail.comg

Secretary

Janene Holmberg, PT DPT, NCS
Email:janene.holmberg@imail.org

Nominating Committee

Linda D’Silva, PT, PhD (Chair)
Email:Linda.dsilva@rockhurst.edu

Kurt Van Der Schalie, PT, DPT, OCS
Email:Kurt.vanderschalie@yahoo.com

Karen Skop, PT
Email:skpannullo@gmail.com

Advisory and Practice Liaisons

Col. Kim Gottshall, PT, PhD, ATC
Email: kim.gottshall@med.navy.mil
Lisa Dransfield, PT, DPT, MA
Email: mld661@sbcglobal.net

Newsletter Co-Editors

Elizabeth Grace, PT, MS, NCS
Email: elizabeth.grace@uphs.upenn.edu
Deborah Struiksma, PT, NCS
Email: Debstruiksma@gmail.com
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo