Become a Member


The Section is proud of our members' Section and National contributions both to the profession and the patients we serve. We extend our heartfelt appreciation and admiration for the 2014 Neurology Section Award and national American Physical Therapy Award recipients.

2015 Neurology Section Award Recipients

The Neurology Section celebrates excellence in research, scholarship, clinical practice and service activities by honoring our members for their achievements and successes over the past years at the annual Neurology Section Business Meeting held at the Combined Sections Meeting, held in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Service to the Section

Clinical Excellence in Education

Excellence in Neurologic Education

Excellence in Research

Golden Synapse

Barnes-Leahy PODS I Scholarship 

Barnes-Leahy PODS II Scholarship

Professional Student Research Award

Post-Professional Student Research Award 

Section Members who received PODS funding from the Foundation for Physical Therapy

  • Kristan Leech, PT, DPT, Northwestern University (PODS II was funded by the Neurology Section)
  • Eric Anson, PT, MPT, University of Maryland (PODS II)
  • Jessica Cassidy, PT, DPT, University of Minnesota (PODS II)
  • Beth Cloud, PT, DPT, Mayo Graduate School (PODS II)

Pittsburgh-Marquette Challenge Award 

Viva J. Erickson Award 


APTA 2014 Award Recipients

Catherine Worthingham Fellow Award

Beth E. Fisher, PT, PhD, FAPTA
Kathleen Gill-Body, PT, DPT, MS, NCS, FAPTA

Lucy Blair Service Award

Jane S. Baldwin, PT, DPT, NCS
Cathy Haines Ciolek, PT, DPT, GCS
William H. Staples, PT, DHSc, DPT, GCS

Margaret L. Moore Award for Outstanding New Academic Faculty Member

 Sandra A. Billinger, PT, PhD, FAHA

Chattanooga Research Award

James T. Cavanaugh, PT, PhD, NCS
Lee Dibble, PT, PhD, ATC
Ryan P. Duncan, PT, DPT
Gammon M. Earhart, PT, PhD
Theresa D. "Terry" Ellis, PT, PhD, NCS
Matthew P. Ford, PT, PhD
Abigail Leddy, PT, DPT, MSCI

Minority Scholarship Award, Physical Therapist Education Program

Emanuel Miano Mugu, SPT
Wesley A. Thornton, SPT
Quinard L. Webb, SPT

Mary McMillan Scholarship Award

Joseph Jackson, SPT, MBA
Sarah Beth Martin, SPT, PhD